Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

Nursery photos-11

Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born, they develop more rapidly during the first five years of their lives years than at any other time. That’s why they are called the foundations years – the building blocks for life!’

The care and education we offer at James Farm helps children to continue to do this by providing them the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which divides the learning and development into seven areas.

The prime areas are:

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Developing confidence and independence whilst learning to concentrate and enjoy learning as part as a group.

Physical Development

Improving control and co-ordination of their bodies whilst learning to move and handle equipment.

Communication & Language Development

Communicating to one another and developing skills in talking, listening, writing, and reading.

The specific areas are:


Linking sounds and letters and to begin to read and write and have access to a wide range of reading material to ignite their interest.


Using ideas about numbers, quantity, measurement, shapes, and space.

Understanding the world

Investigating and beginning to understand the things, places, and people around them.

Expressive Arts & Design

Finding ways to communicate by using creative projects.

Each of the 7 areas are organised into age ranges which are called ‘early learning goals’, they show us what a child should be able to do at their age.

Every child is different and develops in a unique way, so we carry out observations to see if there are any areas in the child’s development that we need to improve using help & encouragement and the careful planning of activities. Further reading on EYFS can be found here The Department of Education – Early Learning and Childcare